Announcement in April

2016 teaser

Each year, a long list of titles is created using suggestions from the One Book, One Community (OBOC) committee members and input from the public.

The committee, which is comprised of library staff, booksellers and book lovers in general, narrow the list down to just 5 titles.

The committee has completed its review of the 5 titles (a list which is kept top secret!) and the title for 2016, which is the 15th anniversary of OBOC, has been selected.

In April, the 2016 One Book, One Community title will be announced.

Leave a comment

Posted by on January 22, 2016 in Uncategorized


Join our mailing list

email-envDon’t miss the latest One Book, One Community news!

Join our mailing list and receive occasional emails on programs, events and OBOC authors.

To subscribe to our mailing list simply contact One Book, One Community committee member, Sandi Hall, at

1 Comment

Posted by on January 18, 2016 in Uncategorized


Congratulations, Richard Wagamese

Wagamese,Richard 2006(colour) -- Credit Jane DixonCongratulations to former One Book, One Community author, Richard Wagamese, on winning the 2015 Evergreen Award with his new novel, Medicine Walk.

NEWS RELEASE – TORONTO, ON (November 10, 2015)

After months of reading the best in Canadian fiction and non-fiction for adults, readers from over 100 Ontario libraries have chosen Richard Wagamese’s Medicine Walk as the 2015 Evergreen Award winner.

Medicine Walk is a timeless and universal story about family, loss, forgiveness and redemption as a young man journeys with his dying father to lay him to rest. As a previous finalist of Canada Reads for Indian Horse, Wagamese is no stranger to Canadians.

“Libraries played a major part in my becoming a writer,” says Wagamese. “If it were not for the haven they provided during my late teens and [early] 20s, I would not be where I am today. It is therefore, a tremendous honour to be named this year’s [Forest of Reading] Evergreen Award winner for my novel Medicine Walk.”

Ontario readers participated in the Evergreen Award program through book clubs and other community forums. The = reading program is designed for adults and comprised of the best titles in Canadian fiction and non-fiction. It is one of eight programs that form the Ontario Library Association’s (OLA) Forest of Reading®, Canada’s largest recreational reading program of its kind.

A committee of library professionals chooses the titles nominated for the Evergreen Award, which are announced every January. Votes are tallied for the award in late October.

“We’re thrilled that Richard Wagamese will now be joining the ranks of previous Evergreen Award winners, who include Cathy Marie Buchanan, Terry Fallis and Linwood Barclay,” says Catherine Coles, Chair, Evergreen Award Steering and Selection Committee. “The Evergreen Selection Committee found Medicine Walk, a brutally honest and tender exploration of redemption, to be deserving of a strong readership and we’re glad library patrons across Ontario have agreed.”

The Forest of Reading helps celebrate Canadian books, publishers, authors and illustrators; and encourages a love of reading in people of all ages. All Canadians are invited to participate through their schools, local public libraries, literacy centres or at home.

The Evergreen Award will be accepted at OLA’s annual Super Conference in Toronto in January

Leave a comment

Posted by on November 10, 2015 in Uncategorized


Congratulations to Lawrence Hill

L HillCongratulations to 2009 One Book, One Community author, Lawrence Hill, on being named a member of the Order of Canada.

The author of 10 books, it was his 2007 novel “The Book of Negroes” which was selected by One Book, One Community. “The Book of Negroes” won many prizes including the Rogers Writers’ Trust, the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, and Canada Reads. Last winter “The Book of Negroes” was aired as a miniseries starring Aunjanue Ellis, Louis Gossett Jr., and Cuba Gooding Jr.

Hill is being recognized for his contributions not only as an author but also as an activist.

Leave a comment

Posted by on July 1, 2015 in Uncategorized


Another Award for “Station Eleven”

ACC_LOGOMay 6, 2015 — One Book, One Community would like to congratulate Emily St. John Mandel, this year’s OBOC author, on winning the Arthur C. Clarke Award for “Station Eleven”.

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain, and is presented annually for the best science fiction novel of the year.

Learn more about Emily’s win at TheGuardian online.

Leave a comment

Posted by on May 6, 2015 in Uncategorized


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 578 other followers